What is Ido Portal’s Training Philosophy Doing To Me?

Quick Tips

Ido Portal

I’ve been following Ido Portal for nearly 2 months and I’m starting to question how we “practice” fitness, what it means to be “fit”, how we get to the point of being considered fit, what humans should be able to do movement-wise, and on and on  and on.

I have to admit, thought process-wise, I am going through a shift.

Ido makes incredibly great points about movement and body control.  It’s a raw thought process, completely stripped down to just… movement.

The point that Ido conveys time and time again is that we should be able to move freely.  He references movement patterns, but I know from reading through his blog and watching his YouTube videos that he isn’t referring to the “safe” movement patterns that we fitness professionals beat into the ground.  He’s expanding far beyond that thought process.

Here are some snapshots of Ido-style movement…

I realize now, more than ever, that the modern-day human really doesn’t know how to handle their body.

We are slaves to sitting in chairs, cubicles, in front of the television and in cars.  If you really stop and think about how much we sit on any given day, it’s nauseating.  Even if we have no choice but to sit for our careers, when the weekend comes we still choose to grab a lawn chair and sit, sit at the bar, sit at restaurant.  Sit.

I can partially throw myself into this group also because I have to sit down to write on this blog.

I consider myself to be an athletic dude, but watching some of these videos leads me to believe that I have handicapped my own movement performance.  I am not even in the same realm as some of the people that have been under the Ido Portal tutelage for as few as a few months.

I can squat (ass to grass) and rest in the squatting position for long periods of time, elevate my arms overhead without breaking at the low back, and exhibit rotational range of motion at my thoracic spine when it’s required… but integrating of all of these elements into a free-flowing long sequence without making it look painfully difficult was humbling for me.

The low lizard crawl is a basic locomotion pattern in the Ido Portal Training Method, and it’s basically used as warm-up!  I am here to tell you that it is humbling how difficult it is to crawl 10-15 yards like this (fast forward to 1:56)…

Are the followers of the Ido Portal Method been practicing different techniques than I am?

Yes, of course.  They are following strict progressions that allow for a appropriate movement education.  A repetitive approach to learning movement in a progression-friendly manner will ensure that no fundamental steps were skipped along the way, all while achieving desired results.

The human body will adapt and increasingly better how we ask to move, or how we don’t it to move.  That is why a lot of people have back pain, poor hip mobility and loss of muscle activation from sitting.  But humans naturally want to stand up straight, so in order to make this possible, we compensate to achieve.

So I think that over time my movement will begin to flow like some of his videos, but it is going to take some work, some practice, dedication and time.

Many of Ido’s students YouTube videos display what I would consider to be “test-outs” or results from following his teachings, so I think that it’s important (when watching these videos) to keep in mind that there was an incredible amount of dedication and work put in prior to shooting each person’s testimonial of the Ido Portal Method.

It didn’t happen over night, in a week or in a month.

The other night, I was trying to find the words to describe my perception of how we pursue health and wellness, and where I stand on the matter.  It’s a difficult topic to discuss because there are so many elements that combine to form, health.

I continue to find myself veering away from “safe” more and more.  Now, I don’t mean that I am moving toward “unsafe” and negligent, but I really am questioning why we do what we do in the gym or outside of the gym (wherever we train).  It’s cookie cutter and robotic in nature.  It’s lacking exploration.  Reps, sets and rest cannot be the pot of gold at the end of the movement continuum.

Who established these rules that we follow so closely?  Science?  Industry leaders?

Do we continue to teach and preach these methods because that is what the masses want?  Or are we lacking in our own understanding of more complex movement patterns, integration and improvisation?  Are we aiming for the wrong target?  What does fitness mean anyways?

We aim for reproducible results- and I don’t think that we should be aiming for anything different- but we have become robots in our pursuit of fitness.  The entire idea is skewed.  Everything that we preach for people to do is cookie cutter and safe.

There is very little room for anyone to stray from the path, and if you do (as I am exploring currently), you’re branded and thrown out to the wolves.

We preach moving within our means, avoiding compromising body positions and alignment, moving weight safely, employing safe rep and set ranges for maximizing our goals, adequate rest to perform that work safely, etc.  Safe, safe, safe.

Before you label me a hippocrate, let me say that I actually also believe in safe.

Ido Portal’s methods of movement might be right for everyone at some point, but maybe not at this moment.

The human race have never moved less or eaten worse.

We sit more, we move less. We are walking time bombs with regard to our ability to move effectively or for any duration (endurance, etc).  We eat food created in factories, food that has never seen the earth’s soil, food that contains ingredients that we cannot pronounce much less identify… and because we eat so much of this food, our body’s have become a reflection of these poor choices.

Make no mistake, we are what we eat.

But the problem is that we don’t even know we are heading down a path of self-destruction.  Eating crap has become the norm, and we don’t even know it.  But food chatter is outside of the scope of this blog post.  I’m not a nutritionist nor do I really want to be.  I’ll end the nutrition talk here.

We walk around commenting that a person is “in shape” if they don’t cast a bubbly shadow on pavement on a sunny day.  Not everyone needs to have a six-pack, but we are desensitized to what health looks like.  “Lean” is almost taboo is some areas of America, and the world.  One look back in history will show that most of civilization is getting bigger.  And by bigger, I am not referring to taller.

In many instances, our body shape is actually limiting our ability to move.  Yes, the amount of tissue that we are carrying on our bodies are preventing us from moving the way that we are supposed to move.

Studies like this support my bantering…

I started thinking like this a few years ago, and I thought I was crazy, because my background is strength and conditioning.  Strength and conditioning workouts and programs are EXTREMELY structured, and EXTREMELY safe.  There is very little room for movement exploration in the eyes of strength coach.  Strength based programs, as I mentioned, are extremely structured.  You work through phases that place focus on building different athletic qualities (hypertrophy, strength, power, work capacity, etc).  The reps and sets are calculated, training days, rest, etc.

I got trapped in that way thinking for everyone, athlete or otherwise.  More like handcuffed.  To the point that I felt like if I explored anything outside of a 4-phase workout program, a barbell squat or a systematic approach to “core training”, then I was a Looney Tune.

Then I picked up a kettlebell for the first time.  Kettlebells had been around for a little while, but they were still considered taboo by some of the leaders in the strength and conditioning industry.  After executing some kettlebell swings and some turkish get ups in a hotel room after a performance conference, I realized that movement was different from exercise.

Movement is different from exercise.

This is movement:

This is exercise:

I was strong, but my integrated movement was shit.  In fact, I wasn’t graceful at all.  My muscles were powerful and my joint were mobile and stable, but I had zero grace in pure movement.  I was powerful, strong and stable within the confines of identified movement patterns, but when I challenged myself outside of these confines, I was at beginner level.

Again, I realized that movement is different from exercise. I was certainly moving when I exercise, but I was trapping and limiting my ability to move freely with traditional exercise.

In fact, I don’t even like the word exercise.  I use it but I don’t like it.  I use the word “movement” on this blog over and over again.  I would even prefer to say “train” or “practice” or “drills” over the word exercise.  Exercise makes me cringe.  “Exercise” makes me think of automated robots on a treadmill.  I don’t want to be an automated robot.  I want to move.  I want to move because I enjoy moving, and seeking out new methods of movement is challenging.  I want to move in an unrestricted 3-dimensional manner.

I’m not going to discard structured movement training using such drills as push ups, squats, and lunges, because they have their place.  But I am damn well going to explore un-traditional forms of movement from here on out.  Climbing, hanging, swinging, etc.  Full integration of movement play and practice starts now.

We fitness professionals think that we know movement and that we are teaching people how to be “functional”, shame on us.  We stop our teachings at “flat back”, “shoulders down and back” and “pressurize your core”!

I learned a long time ago, after crumpling up and throwing away probably 2-3 books worth of writing material that I should trust my thinking.  I feel that I should trust my thinking now.  I have grown to appreciate being exposed to new ideas that initiate an evolution in my own thinking.

Why be trapped?  Go explore, go move…

Oh and here is that picture that I promised some 910 words ago…

Screen Shot 2013-08-17 at 12.01.58 PM

 

 

 

Cheers to stumbling onto ideas that open our minds!

KG

7 thoughts on “What is Ido Portal’s Training Philosophy Doing To Me?

  1. Hi KG,

    That was a great summary of all the things I have been thinking recently.

    I have also found that the safer I became the worse my health got. I am now 46 years old and I guess i’m in fairly good condition compared to the “average” man my age but somehow it didn’t quite seem enough.

    Then I stumbled across some of Ido’s youtube video’s and was blown away by his thinking and approach. So much so that i’m considering signing up to one of his 12 week training plans. I know it’ll be hard work and I realise it’s going to be a whole new world of hurt when I first start out but I only have this one body to live in so i better do by absolute best to make sure I don’t outlive it!!

    Keep up the good work, I’ll be back to read more and possibly share my experiences on Moving.

    Cheers,
    Glyn

    1. Glen,

      Thank you for the kind words. I appreciate you sharing your experience. Ido is making big waves in the movement scene and I believe that there is a lot to be learned from him.

      I think pursuing a training plan from Ido would be a great experience for you. I’m happy to hear that you’re taking care of your body.

      Keep up the great work and let me know how you are progressing!

      Kyle

  2. Where is the best place to train the way Ido does? I live in Waukesha Wisconsin and the only place that I can think of is a Crossfit gym. I go to a golds gym and it’s perfect for using barbells and Dumbbells but they don’t have rings, Olympic bumper weights, or even regular pull up monkey bars. And every gymnastics gym I call is geared more towards little kids. Any advise would be very much appreciated.

    1. Hey man…

      Honestly, if you can swing it, buy this stuff on your own and outfit a home gym. Running the numbers, it pays to buy your own stuff, especially if you’re following an Ido Portal style program.

      The fact that you know who he is tells me that you know something about training, so I would say build your home into a place where you can train whenever you want.

      Why waste money paying “rent” to a gym when you could own it forever, for about 3-4 months worth of a membership?

      Just my 2 cents…

      Thanks for swinging by the blog!

      Kyle

  3. So many wise words on this one. Great post.
    I already wrote you on Youtube, and I don’t wanna become the stalker of the year, but I think I’m actually going through this “switching” from strength and conditioning training to movement practice that you described in this post (a while ago now), and I’d love to hear more about your experience in this journey.

    “Reps, sets and rest cannot be the pot of gold at the end of the movement continuum”.
    I feel I agree 110% with this, and yet I still can’t find anything that can point me to the way I should address this movement practice in terms of “how much” (the old view of reps and sets) and “when” (the old view of rest and recovery).

    I’m trapped in this realm of “today’s strength session was super-tough, I’m going to need 2-3 days to fully recover and let tendons and ligaments adapt”.
    I can’t find a way to get out of it and just practice movements in a productive way, that would let my beginner body develop the strength necessary to perform a few of the flows we both came to admire.

    Should I just isolate (Ido’s step #1) some basic movement skills and work on them for 30-60 mins on every day my shoulder is not swearing for the bear crawl I did on my last practice?
    “Just listen to your body and work your ass off whenever you can” mode? 😀

    Btw, I guess you can tell I’m no fitness professional… Just a hugely-passionate-kinda-overweight dude that’s working his way up to the day he’ll have the chance to attend one of Ido’s webinars 🙂

    With all this being said, thank you so much for your blog and Youtube channel. This is all helping me a lot in moving forward with my health journey!

    Cheers 🙂

    1. Stefano, thank you for reaching out with a comment. I’m going to go into depth sometime today or tomorrow regarding your questions, but first… don’t ever apologize for asking questions or interacting. I don’t think you’re a stalker at all! One thing I don’t like about the internet is the idea that is a person reaches out more than once or on several different platforms, that they are somehow a “stalker”. Not at all… We are just two guys have a long distance conversation, and I think it’s great! Keep asking questions… it’s how we both learn… 👊

      1. Thank you Kyle!
        I appreciate the time and effort you’re putting into this. I’m just extra-respectful of other’s time, that’s why I try to not overdo with my questions (and trust me, I’d have tons! LOL).
        Thanks again, looking forward to your thoughts on this! 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.