Why You’re Not Fit: We’re All Busy, We All Have A Lot of Things That We’d Love to Do, Movement is Optional

Quick Tips

ladder of success

I love to study the psychology behind why we humans do or don’t do the simplest of things to propel ourselves to better situations in life.

This post is easy for me to write because I write it as a person that ISN’T EVEN CLOSE TO PERFECT.  I’m not.  I have a lot of personal growing to do, habits to establish and higher levels of work ethic that I could stand to settle into.  It’s an uncomfortable feeling knowing that you can push it way harder than you are, but at the same time it’s exciting because you know that taking your efforts to the next level is going to reward you in even bigger ways.

Exceptional effort will always bring about exceptional rewards.

It’s funny how it seems that the only people who are truly holding us back from greatness (whatever greatness means to you), is ourselves.  There is rarely an instance where someone else is to blame for our problems, shortcomings or disbelief in our abilities.  It’s nearly all in our head.

We created the barriers.  Amazing to think about.

The thoughts circulating around inside of our skulls will either catapult us to great achievements, or drag us down for the rest of our life, leaving all of our potential on the table, unused.

Image

There’s another truth that I would like to talk about today- it’s more of an observational statement- and it goes a little something like this:

  • We are all busy with work, family, chores, other responsibilities and we all have a lot of things that we would sure love to do.

Now, I am going to be the first to step up and say that I have leaned pretty hard on this excuse myself.  I have.  I still catch myself saying it or thinking it almost daily.  I’ve figured out that life shouldn’t be all work and no play, but if I find myself mindlessly watching TV, getting sucked into the black hole that is Facebook or reading ignorant YouTube comments, well, than I am wasting my own time and I could be focusing that time on something that I love to do.

Something valuable like writing more and pushing myself through the growing pains of finding my voice and tone.

How about you?

As it relates to fitness and achieving a higher state of fitness, are you really too busy?

I have found that if I say that I want to achieve something, I shouldn’t talk about it unless I am dead fucking serious about achieving it.  It’s so easy to just “kinda” want to achieve a goal.  Soooooooo easy.  Everyone just “kinda” wants to own their own business, or just “kinda” wants to travel more or just “kinda” wants to learn that second language or develop that other skill.

“Kinda”.  Because that’s what it really is.  It’s a half ass effort that we put forth to trick ourselves into thinking that we are really “going for it”.

–>  Leading by poor example

3 years ago I tricked myself into thinking that I could write the book I had always wanted to write because I felt like I had so much to say as it pertains to building performance and getting people back on track with smart strength and conditioning interventions.  I felt like I had a unique voice that people could relate to because my writing style wasn’t filled with science heavy jargon terminology to make myself sound intelligent.

Shit, little did I know, I was right.  My old blog was growing in popularity faster than I ever thought it would.  I actually had a fan base. I was contacted by a few fitness companies- who had products that I used and wrote about using- to set up some fees for advertising on the site.  But I just “kinda” wanted it to happen, I hadn’t reached a level of maturity inside of my head that was willing to sacrifice anything to achieve it.  I wasn’t even close.  It just seemed like a good idea.  I wasn’t ALL IN.

Belief systems control what happens to you.

So I will ask you again… if you say that you want to build fitness or eat healthier… are you really too busy to make it happen?  Or does it just seem like a good idea in the present moment.  Are you just saying it?

Are you convincing yourself that you’re too busy?

Image

Stop selling yourself the bullshit.  

We are all too busy to pursue higher levels of fitness.  We are all too busy to block off a few minutes to cook that nutritious meal that we consciously know will do some good for our health.  We would all love to be frolicking around on Miami Beach in the sun sipping on Pina Coladas and building sand castles.

Image

Yes, I want to be there too, frolicking.

You can’t go half-way and expect anything to happen.  That’s the reason you’re not fit.

You tricked yourself.  Trust me, I am just one voice among millions on the internet.  If you found me on here, well thank you for sticking with me, but I am a needle in a haystack.

Just for shits and giggles, go and type “Best Workouts for Fat Loss” into the Google search bar and see how many hits you come up with:

Image

12,500,000 results for the search of “Best Fat Loss Workouts”.

Most of this information is free and if it isn’t free, you can find enough free information from that search to throw together a pretty decent little program.  This is what the professionals will never recommend to you.  You can make your own programs, and if you spent about 30-60 minutes researching what exercises to include, I bet you wouldn’t be too far off from an effective workout.

At the very least, you’d be taking action, which is more than you did yesterday, right?

Are you too busy to workout today?  Too busy to learn how to prepare a decent breakfast that will help you lose fat and get some nutrients into your system?

You aren’t.  I know you aren’t.

You just haven’t made it a priority yet.

Cheers to ruffling feathers and crushing excuses!

KG

Leave a Reply

