Maybe I Should Post a Workout?

Brain Training, Dumbbell/Barbell Workouts

I got to thinking about what purpose this blog is going to serve.  As I build my information publishing business from the ground up, the blog will serve as an outlet for updates, current thoughts on news and media, ideas to get you thinking about your own training and also a splash of what my training and eating habits look like.

Kind of sounds like the average blog uh?

Hmmm…

Anyways, I thought that I should probably fire up a post sharing a sample workout.  I’m typically not a person that promotes individual workouts.  I am more of a program type guy.  The program is the road map.  It’s complete and will keep a person progressing for months, years, etc.  Programs build bodies resistant to fatigue and injury.  Programs build strength, stability, power and work capacity.

A workout is really just the “sweat of the day”.  However, hot damn if I don’t love an improvised workout!

{I’ve literally got hundreds of improvised workouts in a notebook at home here.  I record everything.  I tested throwing together workouts based on movement patterns and exertion versus the traditional approach to physical fitness.  I got some interesting results.}

But never mind that…

After all, the gym is a busy ass place.  Not all of the equipment that an author or coach draws up for a program is going to be open all of the time.  I think that authors forget about this when they write.  You’ve got a free weight area in each gym which gets more and more popular every single year, and the author wants you to stake claim to a bench, 4 pairs of dumbbells and barbell?  Get real.

I despise those people who pull this kind of shit in the gym.  Especially since the effort put forth by the individual doesn’t even come close to the amount of equipment that they have hoarded.  (Sorry for the rant)

Sometimes you have to adapt, right on the fly.

If you recall, last Sunday I got my head jarred and suffered a concussion.  I am sure I have beat that into the ground already.  Any how, I gave myself a solid week of doing nothing but sleep and minimal movement around the house.  I have been through the concussion scenario before and it helped big time to lay low.

This past weekend my lovely girlfriend (Amanda) and I spent the weekend away from my Eau Claire training compound, in Minneapolis, MN.  I debated whether or not to try to do something physical while in Minnesota but ultimately decided that I wanted to see how it felt to exert myself a little bit.

Turns out I was good to go.

Anytime I am in a commercial gym I always prepare for the worst…

… the worst equipment.

… the worst crowds.

… the worst amount of space.

… etc.

Seriously, if you plan for the worst possible situation and you know that you have a Plan B no matter what… that is comforting.  You’ll never miss a workout and you’ll always be pushing closer to your objective or at the very least maintain what effort you have put forth already.

I could get a quality workout in a phone booth.  I am convinced of that.  I don’t need any equipment and I can get by just fine for an extended period of time.  But not all of you have that knowledge which is partly why I am writing my ass off (book-wise) lately.  It isn’t always peaches and cream when it comes to the resources available for the ever important workout.

Luckily, I play with the free weights almost exclusively.  It’s the most underused section of the gym, especially after New Year’s, which is weird because it is also the most effective place in the gym to change your body, build strength, lean mass, etc.

Develop an athletic looking body if you will.

Seriously, you’ll strip fat twice as fast using nothing but free weights as opposed to running on that hamster wheel we call a treadmill.  This is no joke.  Those who have been at it for while will back me up on this (feel free to do so in the comment section so I know that someone out there has a pulse:)

After I knew that I could train at a decent intensity (which wasn’t much since I was so out of it all week), I went for the free weights and had at it.  The gym had one squat rack which is all I needed to know to make the session respectable.

Here is what my on-the-go adapted  training session looked like:

A1)  Rear foot elevated split squats x8 R/L

+

A2)  Push-ups x15

–  No rest between exercises for 5 total rounds.

–  Rest for set up of the next movements (roughly 2-3 minutes)…

B1)  Deadlift x5

+

B2)  Chin-Up (slow eccentric) x8

–  Very minimal rest between movements for 5 total rounds.

– Rest for the clean up of the equipment used and transition to cardiovascular dusting…

Aerobic:  2.5mi run on treadmill (aka: hamster wheel) keeping the heart rate around 153-156bpm.

The workout time was about 45 minutes.

As you can see, I measure everything.  I knew that I needed to keep my heart rate down post-concussion just to be safe.

I warmed up for a ridiculous amount of time just to be safe.  They had a really shitty jump rope which I tried to twirl for about 3-4 minutes before finally giving up on it.  Having decent functioning equipment really makes things more enjoyable, trust me there.

I will say that the work capacity portion was tough for me.  It felt like I hadn’t trained in months which is common when you just lay around for days at a time.  The aerobic session was strictly just to re-acclimate my body to that kind of oxygen exchange and continuous movement.  The treadmill, in reflection, was a good choice since I really just had to move enough to keep up with the belt.  My body isn’t ready for anaerobic type conditioning just yet, and that is me telling myself “no, not yet”.  I don’t want to risk anything shitty happening with my brain.

My conditioning was great prior to the concussion, so it shouldn’t be too much work getting back to that point.  That is the beauty of strength training.  Build it once and your body will remember what it needs to do.  The first couple sessions are discouraging but you have to keep it in perspective.  The body operates on an incredibly predictable set of rules.

Do this, then this happens.  Do this, then this happens.

It’s really nothing more than that quite honestly.  Don’t hype it up anymore than is necessary.  Avoid the over-hype.

Most people really don’t need to be concerned with every little detail of fat loss or lean mass building.  Do this, then this will happen.  Let guys like me worry about that kind of stuff.  Stay low information with your training.  You’ll be much happier.

938 words into this post and I am finally wrapping it up…

Oh, but before I go, check out some new tunes that I have been training to…  I dig this guy and his music a lot…

  • Macklemore- “The Heist”

[Hip-hop, not rap.  Incredible lyricist.]

 

Cheers for two-a-day posting from this guy…

KG

Leave a Reply

