Trickery & Timeless One Liners to Help Guide Your Lean Eating

Food/Eating

Anyone who has gotten into a discussion on eating with me knows that I don’t dive into the complicated micronutrients, label reading or hormonal changes that come about with eating different packaged foods.

Quite honestly, after you read so much material about fat loss and eating, you begin to see that everything is connected.  You start to read the same material worded a different way over and over again.  It get’s old, fast.

So, I have found that the best thing we can do for ourselves is STOP COMPLICATING what should be simple.  Eating nutrient dense food shouldn’t be hard.  The problem is that many of us were raised to believe that some of the food that was served at the dinner table was healthy.  There is nothing healthy about Hamburger Helper (Yes I ate it a lot too) or Macaroni and Cheese.

Our view of health food is skewed.  The food industry has done a masterful job at tricking us.

Words and phrases such as:

–  “Natural”

–  “Fat Free”

–  “Sugar Free”

–  “Low Calorie”

–  “Zero Calorie”

–  “Metabolism Boosting”

–  “Farm Fresh”
… are red flags in my world.

As much protein as an egg, and as much sugar as a candy bar.

I rarely walk down the center isles of the grocery store, but if I do, the first thing I notice is how clever the food companies are at tricking us.  It’s a scam all the way around.

So as I mentioned early on in this post, I often throw out a one liner to people who I talk to about nutrition and what they should be eating to see their abdominals once again.  Or, screw seeing your abdominals, some of us should be eating to prolong life and fight disease and a lifetime of hospital bills.  Because that is a reality also.

Here are just a few:

  • If your great grandparents wouldn’t recognize what you’re eating, you shouldn’t eat it.
  • If it has a mother or came from the earth, eat it.
  • Meat:  The less legs the better.
  • “If it’s a plant, eat it. If it was made in a plant, don’t.”  -Michael Pollan
  • “Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants.”  -Michael Pollan

 

*  For the last bullet point, I always recommend adding protein to that recommendation.

I have seen at least 50 or more one liners like this floating around the internet regarding nutritious eating practices.  At first I thought they were gimmicky.  That was until I started throwing them out to people who were asking me if the new 100 calorie bags of popcorn were ok to eat for fat loss, or if Rockstar energy drinks could provide the daily recommended vitamin intake.

Personally I love the look that people give me when I toss out a good quote.  It’s almost as if they expected me to give them a magic bullet or a secret tip.  There are no secrets, remember?

Here is a reminder of that… 

“Well is that how you eat?”, they ask me.

“Yes”, I reply.

Don’t complicate eating.  You have enough stress in your life.  The food you’re jamming down your pie hole doesn’t need to be one of those stresses. Buy some good quality extra virgin olive oil, sea salt, pepper, and get cooking.  Enjoy the experience.

 

-KG-

2 thoughts on “Trickery & Timeless One Liners to Help Guide Your Lean Eating

    1. No cereal. Cereal is like candy. Check out the ingredients and nutrient profile. Yikes.

      The only cereal I would ever consider is Grape Nuts. They have found a way to make it reasonable (still not good) to eat.

      Choose: eggs, full fat yogurt, nuts, dark berries, etc.

      Kyle

Leave a Reply

