Two Movements… “Loads” of Fun

20 minute Workouts, Kettlebell Training

If you didn’t catch my original post about my introduction to kettlebell training, you can find it here:

Kettlebells for Beginners

I posted some pretty cool demonstrations inside of the post to help make my points.  I am a visual learner, so I would expect that many of my readers are as well.

In my effort to expose some of the training methods the I have used to stay lean over the last 4 years away from the traditional gym, I will be posting more and more sample workouts using a wide variety of training tools.

As you’ll soon see, I don’t discriminate when it comes to training tools.  If it makes sense, it has a place.

Some workouts will involve just one tool, and some will fuse many different tools into one workout.  The fusion of methods is important for overall development.  Close your mind to one style of training and you may close the door on a valuable opportunity.

What follows is a simple workout that I have adapted over time.

It’s one of my favorites because it reminds me of how simple effective training can be.

It has become a mainstay movement/skill based training session for kettlebell work, but provides so much bang for your buck that I had to share it with you…

Here you go…

Tools needed:  Gymboss Interval Timer and 24kg kettlebell (go lighter if need be)

 

“Swings and TGU’s”

1)  10 minutes Alternating Turkish Get-Ups

+

2)  15sec on/ 15sec rest for 24rounds of 2-Hand Kettlebell Swings (24kg)

***Complete #1 in its entirety, rest for 1-2 minutes, then complete #2.

 

As always, if you are new to this time based training… Use your head.  You will get an amazing training effect even if you have to dial back the time to 5, 6 or 7 minutes of turkish get ups.  In fact, you shouldn’t even worry about performing this workout if you have never done a Turkish Get-Up.

A time based workout is not the place to learn a new movement.  Develop your technical skill before diving into a workout.

Check out a tutorial and all around fun way to learn Turkish Get-Ups right here.

Leave a Reply

