The Anatomy of the 90 Day Kettlebell Complex

15 minute Workouts

As I mentioned in my last post, this was a 3-month self-experiment in training methods. The question was clear:

How simple could I make a workout while maintaining current body composition or leaning out even more?

Here is the play-by-play breakdown of the simple program that I used…

  • Total time: 90 days
  • Workouts per week: 3 (occasionally I mixed an anaerobic interval based Schwinn Airdyne session in on the weekends, always with 1 day rest between sessions)
  • Sets per workout: 5
  • Reps per movement: 6 (except for KB swings and pushups… 15 reps)
  • Training tool/weight used: 2 Lifeline Kettlebells x 53lb (24kg)
  • Rest: No rest between movements and 60 sec after completing 1 round before starting the next round

The Perfect 15 Minute Workout for Fat Loss:

Double Kettlebell Clean x6

Double Kettlebell Front Squat x6

Double Kettlebell Military Press x6

Alternating Gorilla Row x6 r/l

a) Double Kettlebell Sumo Squat x6

or

b) Double Kettlebell Reverse Lunge x6 r/l

2-Hand Kettlebell Swing x15

Bodyweight Push Up x15

Done.  Well done actually.

Rest 60-75sec and repeat 4-5 more cycles.

In less than 15 minutes I address every single muscle in my body using resistance based movements, compound with shortened rest periods which produces an incredible training effect for fat loss.

In real time…

The Warning…

I am going to warn you before you try this. I am not dumb (negligent might be a better word) enough to tell everyone to use a workout like this. This kind of training is for individuals who are technically proficient in the basic lifts and have a solid foundation of strength and conditioning.

No rest in between these movements requires a tremendous amount of focus while under fatigue, and also common sense. Resistance based movements while under fatigue can be dangerous for individuals who have never progressed to such training methods.

There were many days when I would have to use common sense myself, backing away from the kettlebells  just to catch my breath and make sure that I could complete the remainder of the workout with proper technique.

When form breaks and falls apart, the potential for injury grow exponentially.

You WILL hurt yourself if you don’t pay attention to what you are doing.

You’ve been warned.

Results…

I was leaner coming out then going in.  That is all that mattered to me.  The workout and the style of training (complex/no rest period) did it’s job.

Toward the end of the 90 days I began to feel like I could add an additional round to the complex, so I did.  I actually ended up using 6 sets for the last 3-4 training days.

It is clear to me that training can be made so simple that it’s thoughtless.  Design a smart training program and stick to it.

If you don’t know how to design your own program, and be honest to yourself here because most don’t, then seek out someone like myself and I will design for you.

Keep it simple, keep it smart, keep progressing.

Smile as the fat falls off.

Leave a Reply

